Lookin’ For A Job In The City

Left a good job in the city
Workin’ for the man every night and day
Haven’t ever lost one minute of sleeping
Worried about the way things might have been

Proud Mary by John Fogerty

So begins another week of trying to find a consulting gig.  I’m a CPA with tons of audit experience and I do consulting in Sarbanes-Oxley compliance for publicly held corporations.  That’s not all I do, but it is a large part of it.

The great thing about my job is that I get to see the inner workings of many high tech firms in Silicon Valley, how they do things, how their accounting systems work, and how they protect themselves from fraud.  Oh yeah, I am also a Certified Fraud Examiner, well tutored in how bad people rip off their companies or how crooked executives cook the books like they did at Enron and Worldcom. 

Sarbanes-Oxley (also called SOX for short) is interesting, but I also love crunching numbers.  Yes, I am a numbers Geek.  I am happier than a pig in mud when figuring out how to comply with Stock-Options accounting or how to compute stock volatility, or using the Black-Scholes financial model to compute the value of employee stock option grants.  I love numbers, I love making them bend to my will.  Ha!  Take that, you logarithm!  En garde, you binomial lattice calculation!  Number-Nerd is here!  I don’t  have a light saber, but I do have a light calculator, and the recalcitrant numbers flee in panic before it.

Well, okay, maybe my job isn’t THAT exciting, but I like it.

Are you harrassed by scary numbers?  Who ya gonna call?

Number-Busters!!

Leave a Reply

