Science vs. Faith: Senator Brownback’s Views on Evolution

Senator Brownback from Kansas has an interesting article in the New York Times today, titled “What I Think About Evolution.”  Brownback provides one of the best discussions of the “Science vs. Faith” controversy that I have seen in a while.  He writes:

Ultimately, on the question of the origins of the universe, I am happy to let the facts speak for themselves. There are aspects of evolutionary biology that reveal a great deal about the nature of the world, like the small changes that take place within a species. Yet I believe, as do many biologists and people of faith, that the process of creation — and indeed life today — is sustained by the hand of God in a manner known fully only to him. It does not strike me as anti-science or anti-reason to question the philosophical presuppositions behind theories offered by scientists who, in excluding the possibility of design or purpose, venture far beyond their realm of empirical science.

Read the whole thing here.

I was once a passionate believer in the theory of evolution, but recently a number of distinguished scientists have raised serious questions about its credibility.  As a result, I no longer believe in it.   How did life get here on Earth?  I don’t know and am content with being honestly ignorant until such time as science can provide a better explanation. 

3 responses to “Science vs. Faith: Senator Brownback’s Views on Evolution

  1. Would you care to share which questions led you to abandon your belief in evolution?

  2. Joe, that’s a good idea. I will do that when I have the chance.

    I don’t discount the possibility of evolution, but it seems highly unlikely to me for reasons I will explain in a later post.

  3. Thanks, I look forward to it.

Leave a Reply

