Great Music from Prior Generations

I have been thinking about Teresa Brewer (see previous post) all week. She reminds me of the fact that every generation has its great singers and musicians. We all have a tendency to believe that our generation was “the best,” but it’s not necessarily so.

My father, who is deceased now, once introduced me to his favorite singing group, “The Ink Spots,” whom he listened to in the 1930’s. I had never heard of them, but immediately fell in love with their romantic songs. One of their best tunes was “If I Didn’t Care,” from 1939. It is the song that plays at the beginning of the movie “The Shawshank Redemption.”

Here it is. Enjoy it.

8 responses to “Great Music from Prior Generations

  1. Pop once told me his favorite song was “Ebb Tide” He was a sentimental guy and I sure miss him.

  2. Bro, see my reply to your previous response for Teresa Brewer. It has info on “Your Hit Parade.”

  3. Conversley, some songs form later generations speak to the previous; My mother, who died at 52 in 1985, loved two songs from the 80’s; Spandau Ballet’s “True”, and Foreigners “Waiting for a girl like you”
    As I love Seventeen by Sinatra, I guess its the ballads that are the thread that link the generations

  4. I mean “very good year” sorry! its not called seventeen at all…spookily, the next post in line has Willaim Shatner ruining it…weird!

  5. Kevmoore, yes, all generations have their great songs. “Waiting for a Girl Like You” was a good one. I don’t remember “True” however, but probably would if I heard it. I do know Sinatra’s tune, “It Was a Very Good Year.” The man sang a lot of great songs! I particularly love “I’ve Got You Under My Skin.”

  6. I remember those Ink Spot Records Grandpa had. They were the original 78 RPM copies! I was about five or six years old when he first played them for me. It was the music of his youth. His Elvis, or Beatles.

    I think about him all the time. Fishing trips, and Baseball games, the smell of chewing tobacco and bacon. Half finished crosswords, Detective magazines, and his Bible on the end table. The Fedora style hats, and polyester slacks. The stories of the farm, and the Cowboy poems

    Once when I was about 10, he told me a story about riding the rails after his mother died. It was during the depression and years before the war. He had met up with another down and out sort of fella and they got a job cleaning dishes in some little town just off the main train tracks. They spent the whole day doing their meaningless but needed job. At the end of the day the owner gave them a loaf of bread, and a can of Pork and Beans. They didn’t have a can opener, and had to use a rock to bust the top of the can open so they could get to the beans. Grandpa told me that they split the loaf of bread and then they ate out the mid section of the bread. Then they took the can of beans and poured them into the middle of hollowed out loaf. I asked him, “Grandpa, did it taste good!” In that strong sure voice that only a few on this board would know, he replied, “Boy it was the best meal I ever ate!”

    I always wondered why the owner just didn’t give him cash. Then I realized, when you’re starving, you can’t eat coins!

  7. He did have some great storys. I used to envy him growing up in such interesting, even if hard, times. Years later I as so glad they refused to send him overseas in ww2 because he was an expert on the Norden Bombsight. He said an officer tod him. “You go overseas!!! Are you crazy? We can’t have the germans getting their hands on you!!”

  8. I loved reading about Grandpa here. There were things I didn’t know about him; I learned about him through your storied about his earlier years here.

    I did recognize everything Gary Jr. listed here. Every one.

    His reading the True Detective magazines sparked my own interest in true crime novels, which I read today (mainly Ann Rule’s).

    I miss him so much. I miss his guidance, wise advice, and keeping the family together.

Leave a Reply

