Giving Thanks

thanksgiving01.gif

I have a mixture of thoughts and feelings on Thanksgiving 2007.  It is my first Thanksgiving without my mom, who passed away on January 2nd.  I am thankful, however, that I had her until she was 85 years of age.  I am thankful that she died peacefully and without pain. 

I am thankful that I am in very good health and that I have been able to shed 34 pounds.  I have another 20 to go to reach my ideal weight, but I am in no hurry.  I suspect today will be a slight setback towards that goal, but not a serious one.

I am thankful that I am not blinded by some passion that distracts me from real life, whether it be religion, politics, the pursuit of status or some weird hobby.  I accept the universe as it is and trust God to know what he’s doing.  I accept my talents and my faults, being a human being and imperfect, but I will try my best to use the former and control and improve the latter.

I am thankful that I have a professional career and a body of training and knowledge that allows me to make a decent living and to care for my family.   I am thankful for the education that made such things possible.  I am thankful for the many great friends and associates I have met through my career who have inspired me with their examples of successful and courageous living.

I am thankful for my nice home.  I am thankful that, when it comes to food, my biggest worry is not to get enough, but to avoid eating too much.   I am thankful for my eccentric, weird and unpredictable older brother Ted, who has always made life for me both colorful and fun.  I am thankful for my eldest son Gary Jr., who understands me better than any other human and who is always there to talk to.  And of course, I am grateful for many other relatives, both cousins, offspring, nephews and nieces, grandchildren and in-laws.

Finally, I am thankful that I live in the United States of America, amongst the freest people on earth, amidst peace and prosperity.  When I consider all of the people who have lived on the earth, and the difficulties they have faced, it is obvious to me that I am among the luckiest of human beings who have ever lived.

3 responses to “Giving Thanks

  1. Now you are on the path.

  2. Well Pop, the good and the bad……….we did it together. I’m thankful for it all. Those days of cruisin’ up highway 17 in ol’ Fred, singin’ James Taylor tunes are far behind us, but never forgotten!

  3. Gary, thannk you for the beautiful and truthful thoughts on Thanksgiving. I also need to shed about 30 pounds. Give me your latest key to success.
    I wish you and Tess and your family a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

